The Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs came into existence following the upgrading of the defunct Department of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs to a full-fledged Ministry with effect from 6th August 2007. It has a staff strength of Ninety-seven (97) as at the period of reporting this information.

The Ministry is statutorily responsible for monitoring the affairs of the twenty-one (21) Local Government Councils in the State and also coordinating the activities of the State Traditional Councils.

Other mandate includes:-

(i)      To implement policies and programmes of government at Local Government levels.

(ii)      Co-ordinate the disbursement of accrued funds from Federation Account to Local Government.

(iii)     Monitor and evaluate projects at Local Government levels.

(iv)     Monitoring of day to day running of Local Government programmes/ activities.

(v)     Initiate policies/programmes for the development of Local Government.

(vi)     Recommendations for appointment of Traditional Rulers.

(vii)    Secretariat for Kogi State Council of Chief which comprised of 1st and 2nd class Traditional Rulers in the State.

(viii)   Advisory to the State Government on grading, upgrading, discipline and welfare of Traditional Rulers.

(ix)     Ensure a high level of accountability and provide technical assistance on budgetary matter.

(x)     Screening of Local Government Annual Estimates.

The Ministry also relates with the following agencies to ensure an effective system of Local Governments in the State. These are:-

(1)     Bureau for Local Government Pensions.

(2)     Local Government Service Commission.

(3)     State Universal Basic Education (SUBEB)

(4)     Office of the Auditor General for Local Government

There are Five Department in the Ministry as follows:-

(i)      Administration and Finance;

(ii)      Local Government Affairs;

(iii)     Inspectorate, Monitoring and Evaluation

(iv)     Chieftaincy Affairs

(v)     Planning, Research and Statistics.

Each Department is headed by a Director.

The State Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs has 26 First Class Traditional Rulers, 47 number of 2nd Class Traditional Rulers and 170 3rd Class Traditional Rulers across the 21 Local Government.

Share this post

Leave Your Comment


Ministry of Information & Communications
Room 311, New State

Secretariat Lokoja, Kogi State

Opening Hours:
Mon – Fri: 8:00 am – 4:00 pm

City Map View

Copyright © 2021 - Kogi State Government of Nigeria. Designed and Managed by Kogi State Ministry of Information & Communications.